Balinese Recipe – Clear mushroom and vegetable soup

 

IMG_0489

 

 

On our recent visit to Bali we spent an afternoon in a little village called Ubud and participated in a cooking class led by a balinese housewife. We chopped and stirred and learnt a thing or two about traditional balinese family life. One of the recipes we tried was a clear mushroom and vegetable soup. Really quick and easy, tangy and warming soup full of goodness.

I spent the last week in bed with tonsillitis and let me tell you, this soup was a lifesaver. After a bowl full I no longer shivered, instead I felt warm and happy and when I closed my eyes and drifted off to sleep I almost felt the balinese sun on my skin.

Here is the recipe, the only thing I altered is that I added more veggies to bulk it up.

 

CLEAR MUSHROOM AND VEGETABLE SOUP

Serves 4

Ingredients

2 cups of button mushrooms, sliced

2 small carrots, sliced

green beans, 1 cup diced

2 big florets of cauliflower, separated

2 big gloves of garlic

2 shallots

2 spring onions, finely sliced

2 Tbsp coconut oil

juice of half lemon (2-3 Tbsp)

5 kaffir lime leaves, torn

1 red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped

1 litre salt reduced chicken stock (or vegetable stock)

salt and cracked pepper to taste

1 Tbsp fried shallots for garnish (optional)

 

Method

Chop shallots and garlic finely. I use my little electric chopper for this.

Heat the coconut oil in a large pot and sautΓ© the shallots and garlic for a couple of minutes. Add mushrooms and sautΓ© for another 5 minutes.

Pour in chicken stock, remaining vegetables and lemon juice. Add kaffir lime leaves to the stock.

Bring to boil and simmer for 5-8 minutes, you want the vegetables to remain slightly crunchy.

Season to taste.

Serve this steaming goodness in a bowl sprinkled with fried shallots.

 

How easy was that?

Enjoy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Balinese Recipe – Clear mushroom and vegetable soup

  1. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired! Very helpful info particularly the last section πŸ™‚ I maintain such info much. I used to be seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

